Ministry of Rural Development (MORD)

Home/Ministry of Rural Development (MORD)

msdcThe Ministry of Rural Development (MoRD) is responsible for the development and welfare activities of rural areas. The vision of the Ministry is to provide livelihood opportunities and security to those in need, including women & other vulnerable sections. And in this regard, the National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) under the Ministry of Rural Development initiated the Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Grameen Kaushalya Yojna (DDU-GKY), a placement linked Skill development scheme for the rural poor youth.

Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Grameen Kaushalya Yojna (DDU-GKY)

Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Grameen Kaushalya Yojna (DDU-GKY) initiative is part of the National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) and is observed as Antoyadaya divas on 25th September every year. The DDU-GKY skill development program focuses on skilling rural youth to build a steady wage employment for them. The DDU-GKY programme is an important component of the National Skill Development Policy and the important features of DDU-GKY are as follows:

  • DDU-GKY undertakes market-led and placement linked skill development training programmes
  • Placements to 75% of the trained candidates.
  • The prime focus will be given to poor families falling under worker household and other minority sections
  • Post placement support for all the trainees
  • Form alliances with training partners who can train and support overseas and captive placements
  • Promote PM’s campaign of “Make in India” through joint partnership with industry and DDU-GKY

The DDU-GKY scheme implementation programme involves State Governments (AAP), Technical Support Agencies, Panchayati Raj (NIRD & PR), and Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs). There are currently 9 states under the AAP status and include Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Gujarat, Kerala, Orissa, Rajasthan & Uttar Pradesh.